Make your own free website on

Qualifying for the Winston 500

This page was last updated on:
Friday, October 9, 1998.


Career Stats

E-mail Me
E-Mail Me Your Comments or Suggestions!

Links to Other Bobby Labonte Web sites!

Ken Schrader Wins First Bud Pole at Talladega

Ernie Irvan wins Bud Pole for NAPA AutoCare 500
Schrader came up with remarkable lap to win pole
Ken Schrader blistered the Talladega Superspeed to a lap of 196.153 MPH (48.819 seconds). Schrader was more pleased with being in the Bud Shootout than his great starting position, however. Bobby Labonte, who was fastest in the earlier practice session, was second quick with a lap of 195.985 MPH (48.861 seconds). Dale Jarrett, one of the five No Bull 5 contenders, was third (195.031 MPH). Terry Labonte was fourth fastest (194.733 MPH), while Mike Skinner (194.429 MPH) was fifth on the grid. Jeff Gordon, who starts sixth, will try to finish the race instead on being hauled away from a gigantic wreck that is commonplace at restrictor-plate races. Kenny Irwin, a rookie, had a good run that will place him seventh. Mark Martin, who credited teammate Jeff Burton for helping the Valvoline team on many tracks, will start one position ahead of Jeff Burton will start ninth. Sterling Marlin, who won back-to-back Daytona 500's, rounds out the top ten. Other notables include Rusty Wallace (12th), Dale Earnhardt (14th), Chad Little (17th with a Thunderbird purchased from Jeff Burton), and Jeremy Mayfield (24th with only one lap).
Schrader blasts to Bud Pole at Talladega
*Starting Lineup